Club News‎ > ‎

AGM Report

posted 22 Jan 2014, 10:34 by Seán Corry   [ updated 22 Jan 2014, 10:46 ]


The Annual General Meeting of Cúil Mín GAA Club was held on Friday 10th January 2014. Chairman Enda Haugh welcomed everyone. A minutes silence was observed for our late President Fr. Jack O’Keeffe R.I.P who passed away on June 10th 2013.

Chairman Enda Haugh reflected on the highs & lows of 2013. He thanked his fellow officers, mentors, trainers, players, parents and everyone involved with the club during the year. Enda called on our adult players to redouble their efforts to win the County Junior A Championship in 2014. He congratulated the Cúil Mín / Kildysart U-15 Team on winning the West Clare Divisional Board A title, the Cúil Mín / Kildysart U-16 Team who won the County Division 2 Championship title & the Cúil Mín / Kildysart Minor team who retained their County Division 3 Championship title. The Clare senior All-Ireland Champions & U-21 All-Ireland Champions were congratulated & wished every success for 2014. He also extended best wishes to Cathal O’Connor & the Clare Senior Footballers in 2014. He wished best of luck to Eoin O’Connor, Gary Meaney & Ben Cleary who are on the Clare U-21 & Minor football panels this year.

Secretary Susan King reported on our Club’s activities during 2013, including fund-raisers, field maintenance & improvement works carried out. She also thanked those who updated our club website & facebook page. Thanks were expressed to all involved in making the visit of the Liam McCarthy Cup to our clubhouse such a memorable occasion. She gave a detailed report on all under-age participation and successes in the various competitions. She especially thanked the parents & mentors of our under-age teams.

Treasurer Geraldine McMahon was delighted to report a surplus in the club’s finances for the year. She gave a detailed breakdown on all club expenses & emphasized the importance of the Lotto as a major fundraiser. She thanked the organisers of the poker classic, bag pack, fun run & Wren for their excellent work. She also thanked the finance committee for their great work during the year.

During the meeting the decline in numbers at under-age level was highlighted plus the continuing number of our members who have emigrated. Votes of sympathy were passed for all members of our club who died during the year.

Officers elected for 2014

President: Morgan O’Connell Snr

Life-Vice Presidents: Johney O’Donoghue, Frank Kennedy Sen, John Joe Reidy, Patrick Meaney, Fr. Paul Kenny, Patrick Morgan, Cyril Reidy, Tommy Haugh, Tom Keane

Chairman: David Neenan

Vice- Chairmen: Enda Haugh & Cyril Stephens

Secretary: Susan King

Assistant-Secretary: Kevin Corry

Treasurer: Geraldine McMahon

Assistant- Treasurer: Vacant

PRO: Paul Kenny

Irish Officer: Pat Shannon

Field Officer: Siney Corry

Children’s Welfare Officer: Collette McMahon

Bord na nÓg Peil Delegate: Susan King

Registrars: Sean McMahon & Alan Corry

West Clare Divisional Board Delegate: Paul Kenny

Players Injury Scheme: Des Murphy

County Board Delegates: Chairman, Secretary, Martin O’Brien, Des Farrell & Adult Team Representative

The manager for our Junior A Team for 2014 is Martin Daly & selectors to be finalised. Plans for 2014 to be put in place at next officers meeting including the appointment of under-age mentors.