Coolmeen/Kildysart U16 v Clondegad U16 Division 2 Football Championship

posted 25 Apr 2016, 16:04 by Eimear McMahon


Coolmeen / Kildysart defeated Estuary neighbours Clondegad in the County U16 Div 2 League on a score of 2 – 09 to 1 – 04.

This was a great game played in difficult weather conditions. Clondegad were first to score before Coolmeen / Kildysart got an equaliser with a free by Seamus Casey. With Dylan O’Halloran dominating at centre back the Coolmeen / Kildysart team got on top with Seamus Casey & Diarmuid O’Donnell adding further points from play. Half forwards Stephen Sheehan & Barry McMahon were now in full flow which led to 2 pointed frees by Seamus Casey. Clondegad finished the half with a well taken point from play.

Half Time: Coolmeen / Kildysart 0 – 05 Clondegad 0 – 02

The early stages of the second half were hard fought between the teams in the wind & rain. Clondegad gradually got on top with 2 points from play before they scored a great goal to give them the lead for the first time by 1 – 04 to 0 – 05. With less than 10 minutes to go Clondegad still led by that 2 point margin before Seamus Casey pointed a free to reduce the lead. Dylan O’Halloran won the kickout before passing to Stephen Sheehan who lofted a high ball towards full forward JJ Carrig who fielded the leather & rattled the Clondegad net to give the Coolmeen / Kildysart players the lead by 2 points. In the following minutes Seamus Casey & Stephen Sheehan scored 2 points from play between them to extend the lead before Barry McMahon was fouled from which Seamus Casey pointed the resultant free to further increase the lead. Deep in injury time corner forward Ronan Murphy won a long delivery before avoiding three defenders & lobbed the keeper with a beautiful chip to seal the victory in dramatic fashion.

Full Time: Coolmeen / Kildysart 2 – 09 Clondegad 1 – 04

Coolmeen / Kildysart Panel: Conor Cusack, David Murphy, Darren Crehan, Fergal Ginnane, James Kelly, Dylan O'Halloran, Patrick O'Connell, Seamus Casey, Diarmuid O'Donnell, Barry McMahon, Conor Moloney, Stephen Sheehan, Conor Hassett, Ronan Murphy, JJ Carrig, Cian Murphy, Emmet McMahon, Danny O'Dea, Conor Kenny, Fernando de Pinera, Dylan Power