Under 16 Div 3 Championship Final

posted 8 May 2012, 07:09 by Joe Corry   [ updated 8 May 2012, 07:09 ]

Coolmeen/Kildysart will have to fight another day after being held to a draw in the Under 16 C championship final Monday last in Cusack Park, Ennis against Clooney-Quin.

Coolmeen had the better of the first half, playing inspirational football throughout the field. For the majority of the half Coolmeen pressed hard on the offensive keeping the ball firmly in the Clooney Quin side of the field. Quin did have their purple patch but Adam Carrigg pull off a trio of sensational saves to put him in man of the match contention and keep Coolmeen in with a fighting chance. Kevin and Rory Mcmahon cut the supply of ball to the opposing forwards and through Cian Murphy and captain Gary Meaney, Coolmeen moved forward. Movement in the forwards was very promising and at half time at a score line of Coolmeen’s 6pts to 3 it seemed like this group of young lads would continue to press forward and increase their lead witht the wind behind them in the last 30 minutes.

However, it is a game of two halves after all and Clooney Quin took a firm grasp of the fixture for the last 30 minutes. Coolmeen did get to counter on numerous occasions through Cian Murphy but Clooney held strong and kicked their way to level scores with 10 minutes to go. Coolmeen were lucky for a finish that they came out of the game with a share as Clooney kicked 12 wides throughout the game.

Coolmeen/Kildysart will get another stab at this final in the coming weeks. The home support will hope their young heroes can take the positives from the first half performance to push them on to glory when they face this task once more. None of the team can be faulted for their efforts. Far from it. Every player should be applauded for their titanic efforts and for the way they put their bodies on the line without hesitation for their squad and mentors.

Team: Adam Carrigg, Alan Normoyle, Rory McMahon, Kevin McMahon, Darragh Cleary, Oisín Coyle, Gary Meaney, Cian Murphy(0-3), Seán Wallace, Ben Cleary(0-4), Mark Meaney(0-1), Barry Crehan, Shane Ryan.